In the fall-out of SOFSEM 2008, I have a bit of a to-do list to take care of. There’s the usual responsibilities: readings and lecture preparations for the course I’m taking; marking, office hours, and lab hours for CS342; organizing the upcoming internal CS conference, UWORCS; and keeping up with the usual political and governing bodies on campus, namely SOGS, CSGSC, GEC, and the department chair selection process. I also have sort out all my receipts from SOFSEM to claim the travel expenses: currently all my receipts are basically in a number of giant balls of papery mess.

I also have to try and keep up with my research. Currently I have three things on my plate as far as research is concerned. The first is to keep in touch with the aforementioned Matej to see how applicable my research will be to the noble goal of robust operating systems. I’ve been reading up on Pict, a language based on the π-calculus, for the past few days and have just sent him another email to see what can be done. The research here seems overwhelmingly practical and I’m less inclined to spend a lot of time coming up nice theoretical models. I think it would be more prudent to come up with a quick addition to the Pict syntax to say that it works. But it does have a lot of potential down the road, perhaps, for a better foundation.

Another road of research, which I’ve spent my office hours this morning doing, is coming up with a compiler for my language, Ca. Incidentally, I now realize I should have spent more time coming up with a good name for it.

I spent this morning writing my own copy collector in C. I like the idea of compiling the language down to C. I also like the idea of having the data structures totally under my control, as my research naturally leads away from garbage collection towards other memory management schemes like regions, or some hybrid. Further, I want my garbage collector to be precise, and it’s hard to get away from conservative garbage collectors in C. For static analysis purposes, it’s also nice to have complete control over the semantics of the memory manager. And, for the purposes of writing short papers, it’s nice to have a memory manager with very simple semantics haha.

Like I said, it’s a copy collector, a rather simple one. No generations or concurrency or speculation or anything like that. Object overhead is 8 bytes right now, though hopefully that will come down. It handles unboxed objects nicely, and precisely.

The downside is that, after much time fiddling with setjmp(), getcontext(), even writing hand-coded assembly, I’ve given up a nice universal way to derive roots, so code has to explicitly use add_root() and remove_root(). Seeing as the code will be automatically generated by the compiler, I’m hoping this won’t be too onerous, but we’ll see.

I suppose everyone’s different, but for me the memory management is the hardest part, so I’m expecting the rest to be mostly grunt work.

After I get the compiler stable enough that I can play around with it a bit, I can start looking at developing the algorithms to actually give some nice bounds on it statically. We shall see.

