I’m so pleased with my progress on the Ca compiler, I’ve decided to provide an ad hoc link to it in its current state. I’m not confident enough to give proper instructions for it though, as it is for hardcore haxx0rz only.

I’ve made the switch from make to ant for the build system. There are a number of things which are bizarre about ant. For instance, failonerror should default to true in every case. Perhaps there are some cases where silent failure can be acceptable, which can be made explicit in those cases with a failonerror="false", but in a build system, I have a hard time believing that an error should, by default, be considered a success. Also there is no convenient built-in way to copy a file while retaining permissions.

Aside from that, I like the ant model of things. Java is not such a horrible way to describe how to build something.

As for the compiler itself, there are a number of bug fixes still in the queue, such that it still can’t be used for useful work. For useless work, however, it is quite fabulous, if I say so myself.

Even more exciting is I’ve run into a theoretical problem which is proving very difficult to prove. Research is one of the few vocations where your very metric of “success” is the number of problems you create. I’m off for a camping trip over the next few days which will give me some time to mull it over.

Next month I’ll be taking a trip back to my alma mater. I’ve been invited by my undergraduate supervisor to help him and his post-doctoral student on a new project he’s starting up. It’s a programming language based on co-inductive types where each program is guaranteed to halt in polynomial time. My job is to come up with, ideally, some clever ways of implementing it efficiently. I don’t know many more details than that, but it sounds like a dream project for me.

